A Bit of Down Time

IMG_2217

In Berlin, we get this thing called „Winterferien“ – a week off from school right before the second semester. It can be inconvenient when on a deadline, but this time I decided to actually take a little time off to try and recharge those batteries.  I was going to start on the soccer book I’ll be contributing to, I really was, but sank into a deep bout of exhaustion instead. I didn’t use my brain a lot at all last week, but managed to do quite a bit of knitting.

IMG_3140

I also spent time with the kids, played a lot of board games (Ticket to Ride, always great and good for geography skills as well as for learning how to pronounce weirdly named American places … Duluth/Sault-Saint-Marie/Arkansas …). I also hosted a number of cute teenagers for my son’s birthday.

IMG_3152

They watched Studio Ghibli movies, I served them cake, my son’s favorite Chili and chips and got to hang out with parents who are also my besties. All in all, it was a pretty chill day, and a quiet week of regrouping for the next 6 intense weeks of school & work. I’m feeling better now, even though sleep was elusive (good for the knitting, though!).

IMG_3162

Not sleeping has also given me time to binge-watch the fourth season of ‚glee‘. Such an awesome show, if you have a soft spot for young adults, not to mention educational in terms of pop music. And occasionally, the glee club’s interpretations are actually preferable to the originals. I swear, Blaine’s solo version of Katy Perry’s ‚Teenage Dream‘ made me cry, it was so intense. My liking this show is most probably an outlet for my apprehension of having to bite that bullet and turning 50 next year. Not looking forward to that :-/…

And then I had to say goodbye to a dear friend who moved to Munich. I took the opportunity to try out one of the more challenging patterns in my faithful crochet book and made her this bookmark, from a pretty shade of grey-blue that suits her so well:

IMG_3130

I will miss her! Long-distance friendships aren’t easy to maintain, but also not impossible if both parties put a little energy into it. Right, A.?

On my walks last week I kept looking for signs of spring (snowdrops, specifically), which were nowhere to be found, even though the grainfields did wear a little sheen of green from the first crops. But lo and behold, as I got out of the car yesterday here in town, I was greeted by these beauties:IMG_0643

There’s hope :-)).

And since no birthday-related post could ever be complete without a recipe, here’s what my absolutely fabulous 14-year old made for his birthday:

IMG_3148.JPG

Small Puff Pastry Apple Tarts

You will need:

1 roll of store-bought puff pastry dough

3 tart apples, cored and thinly sliced

3 TBSP apricot jam

Cut dough into 3 cm wide strips and spread with some jam. Thinly slice apples and soften in hot water for 5 minutes. Place on dough strips side by side with the half-moon shapes on top, then roll up tightly for that sweet rose petal look.

Place on baking sheet lined with parchment and bake for approx. 20 min at 160 – 180 °C.

They’re really good when fresh out of the oven, with a dollop of whipped cream.

And now for something completely different … back to work. Have a great week, everybody.

Kommentar verfassen

